Law.com Legal Dictionary
Free online dictionary for legal terms
The Alameda County Law Library is supported by court fees and provides access to current legal information to the public, attorneys and residents. The library is in Oakland. Go to this site to find hours and directions to these libraries and connect to their catalog. To access Nolo Press legal self-help books from your home, go to the Law Library website http://acgov.org/law/refservices/legaldata.htm and then NOLO (EBSCO Legal Information Reference Center).
The Alameda County Bar Association provides low cost services in the areas of Immigration deportation defense, vias and political asylum. Other services include bankruptcy, criminal defense, family law, wills and trusts and employment law.
Well-organized and user-friendly site for do-it-yourself legal solutions including wills, divorce and rental issues.
Contains links to international, federal and state law among other features. Recommended by law schools and attorneys.
Cornell Legal Institute
Comprehensive academic site including constitutions and codes, court opinions, and topic-based access to legal sources under "Law about…".
Ask Now's Law Librarian Service
Chat online and ask a law librarian your question.
American Bar Association's Law Info site
Information for the consumer, divided into eight sections: buying and selling, your finances, your home, your family, your job, the courts, criminal justice, and find a lawyer.
Government Codes and Manuals Online
Find, read or download many government codes both Federal and California. Includes, but not limited to: 2007 California Code of Regulations; 2007 Administrative, Fire, Electrical, Plumbing, Building and Mechanical Codes; U.S. Government Manual; Copyrights. Free.
An Underserved Region, A Library Partnership
The mission of the Alameda County Law Library is to provide all Alameda County residents access to current legal information. The law library presently operates in Oakland, but has lacked a physical presence in eastern Alameda County. Alameda County covers a geographically large area of almost 740 square miles. In recent decades, the suburban and rural communities of Pleasanton, Dublin and Livermore have witnessed significant growth. The combined population of these cities now exceeds 200,000. The region also has a large and active legal community that is dominated by solo and small firm attorneys. There are currently no law libraries or legal aid organizations operating in eastern Alameda County.
To improve access to legal information in eastern Alameda County, the Alameda County Law Library recently partnered with the Alameda County Public Library to establish the Legal Resource Collection @ Dublin Public Library. The partnership is intended to support the needs of self-represented litigants, the public, and local attorneys, the collection features a large selection of California practice guides, formbooks, legal self-help books, and free legal database access.
Recognizing the importance of improving access to legal information in this underserved region, the Alameda County Law Library secured an LSTA grant from the California State Library to establish a satellite collection of essential print and electronic legal materials at the Dublin Public Library. With the support and cooperation of the Alameda County Public Library, the law library began developing the Legal Resource Collection @ Dublin Public Library, purchasing a targeted selection of practice guides, legal self-help books, and database subscriptions capable of providing meaningful access to legal information. The Legal Resources Collection @ Dublin Public Library includes:
Free Legal Database Access
The LSTA grant enabled the law library to purchase site licenses to several popular legal databases for the Dublin Public Library. There are 6 databases: Lexis-Nexis; OnLaw; fastcase; Hein Online; Nolo Law for All and the DissoMaster™ software for calculating child support.
All databases are only accessible from the two Legal computer stations in the Group Study room, and over Dublin Library's wireless network. However, Lexis-Nexis is not available over the wireless network.
The Legal Resource Collection is available to Dublin Public Library visitors during the library’s normal business hours. For more information about the Legal Resource Collection @ Dublin Public Library, please visit our website at https://calcountylawlib.libguides.com/dpl.
Public Law Library
Provides a list of self-help centers for those representing themselves in court, a mini-class on doing legal research and a wide-ranging collection of legal links.