This database contains full text for more than 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. Includes information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world and FORMS.
In their 140-year-plus history began in 1868, when lawyer and businessman James B. Martindale first published The Martindale Directory. Its stated purpose was "to furnish to lawyers, bankers, wholesale merchants, manufacturers, real estate agents, and all others...the address of one reliable law firm, one reliable bank, and one reliable real estate office in every city in the United States..."
By 1896, The Martindale Directory included the basic information that still appears in the lawyer and law firm Profiles, as well as ratings and a section on foreign lawyers and firms.
In 1930, the Martindale Company purchased the publishing rights to Hubbell's Legal Directory, which contained a digest of state laws, court calendars and a selective list of lawyers and firms. The following year marked the first edition of the Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory; a two volume set that combined the features of both predecessor publications.
Today, Martindale-Hubbell offers solutions for both professional and consumer markets. Our online destinations contain profiles for over one million lawyers and firms in the United States, Canada and 160 other countries, serving as a fundamental legal resource and marketing tool.
Created by the state legislature in 1927, the State Bar is a public corporation within the judicial branch of government, serving as an arm of the California Supreme Court. All State Bar members are officers of the court.
Attorney Complaint Hotline: 1-800-843-9053 or 1-213-765-1200 (outside California)
The State Bar of California is committed to providing access to its Web pages for individuals with disabilities. If you have difficulty accessing any material on this website because of a disability, please contact us at email@example.com and we will work with you to make the information available.
San Francisco (Main Office)
180 Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
Directions Los Angeles
1149 South Hill Street
Los Angeles, CA 90015
(Legislative office only)
Attorneys may advertise as certified specialists only if they are certified directly by the State Bar of California or an organization accredited by the State Bar to certify such attorneys.
The specialty areas without an asterisk are certified directly by the State Bar. Those marked with an asterisk are certified by organizations accredited by the State Bar. For more information on those organizations, use the links to the right.
The Alameda County Bar Association Lawyers in the Library Program provides free confidential legal referral information to all Alameda County residents. The program is staffed by volunteer attorneys and held at local library branches. Please contact the library in advance to confirm the date and time.