Skip to main content
Alameda County Library

Our library buildings are closed until further notice. Thanks for your support and patience as we continue to evaluate and adjust our operations due to COVID-19. While our buildings are closed, we’re still here for you with online resources, virtual events, and appointments for no contact pickup service. Read more

Fremont Local History Resources: Washington Township 1800s-1956

Use this guide to find resources for the history of Fremont from prehistory to the present day.

The Five Districts

Centerville, Irvington, Mission San Jose, Niles, and Warm Springs make up the townships which were eventually incorporated into the city of Fremont in 1956. Between the Gold Rush and 1956, the townships flourished with agriculture, viticulture, industry, and small businesses.


Searching the Catalog - For many searches, searching by subject will generate more relevant results than keywords. Start your search by trying these subject headings first:

fremont calif history 


Listed below are a few resources which showcase the history of Washington Township.


Washington Township

Thomas Bros. Map, Gladys Williamson Collection, Maurice Marks Center for Local and California History