Skip to main content
Alameda County Library

Fremont Local History Resources: Mission San Jose

Use this guide to find resources for the history of Fremont from prehistory to the present day.

Mission San Jose

Mission San Jose was founded on June 11, 1797, by Father Fermin Francisco de Lasuen on a site which was part of a natural highway by way of the Livermore Valley to the San Joaquin Valley. It was the fourteenth of the 21 Spanish Missions in Alta California. They were founded to secure Spain's claim to this land and to teach the native people Christianity and the Spanish way of life.

In this area, you will find recommended sources of information on Mission San Jose.

de Guadalupe?

The name of Mission San Jose has had a few variations over the many years of its existence.  It is today a point of contention for scholars embattled towards one point of view. Information about the same place can be found under both Mission San Jose, and Mission San Jose de Guadalupe.

 The most accepted version of the name is simply Mission San Jose.

Resources in the Library

Searching the Catalog - For many searches, searching by subject will generate more relevant results than keywords. Start your search by trying these subject headings first:

Mission San Jose Alameda County Calif

Mission San Jose Alameda County Calif History

Oral History

Early Days in the Mission Hills and Mission San Jose - Recording of a 1971 oral history of Misses Geary, created by Maurice Marks. Audio CD Call No. CDB 979.465 MISSES 

 DVD

Celebrating Fremont's 50th: The Founding of Mission San Jose & the End of Tribal Life in the San Francisco East Bay DVD of speech by Andrew A. Galvan, Ohlone Indian descendant and curator, Old Mission Dolores, San Francisco (2006). Call No. DVD 979.465 CELEBRATING Maurice Marks Center (Fremont Main Library): Library Use Only

Books

Multiple copies of certain books may be available for checking out at various local branches. Some books also have additional copies for in library use only at the Maurice Marks Center in the Fremont Main Library. Check location and availability by clicking on the book titles below.

Online Resources

California Mission Resource Center

Brief facts of Mission San Jose

A slide show of Mission San Jose

The Historical Marker Database

Find images and inscriptions commemorating Mission San Jose. HMdb.org is a searchable online catalog of historical information viewed through the filter of roadside and other permanent outdoor markers, monuments, and plaques. It contains photographs, inscription transcriptions, marker locations, maps, additional information and commentary, and links to more information provided by self-directed volunteers.

Search tip: When searching for Mission San Jose in this database, you must include the accent mark – Mission San José – to find the marker at the mission. (If you don't know how to make the "é" on your keyboard, copy and paste it from the previous sentence.)

San Jose Public Library California Room database

The California Room database is an index to historical information on San José, Santa Clara County and California containing references to people, places and events in California and local history. It is particularly strong on names from the 19th and early 20th centuries. The database is compiled by California Room staff, and entries are added monthly. As simply an index, the California Room Database does not include images or full text of the materials cited. The database indexes a wide variety of materials, including books, newspaper articles, clipping files, scrapbooks, periodicals and vital records. Recommended search term: Mission San Jose (without quotation marks)

The King Library Digital Collections

The King Library Digital Collections represent rare and unique materials held by San Jose State University Special Collections and the San Jose Public Library's California Room. The collections document the history of the Santa Clara Valley from its agricultural beginnings to the high-tech boom and formation of the Silicon Valley. The range of subjects covered include local politics, social and cultural traditions, education, local business and industry, and historical events. Recommended search term: Mission San Jose (with or without quotation marks)

Online Archive of California (OAC)

Provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 150 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses. Recommended search term: "Mission San Jose" (use the quotation marks)

Museums

Museums in Fremont

·Mission San Jose contains abundant history about the Mission Era, as well as some online information

A brief histroy of Mission San Jose from the historical site's webpage

Geneology at the Mission contains records of birth, first communion, confirmation, marriage, and death.

Restoration of Mission San Jose

 

·The Museum of Local History contains rich information on Fremont and nearby areas

A breif history of Mission San Jose

A breif tour of the Mission today